An Open Hand

Great sermon at church today. It was about what Jesus thinks a disciple should be. Got me thinking: am I really living as the follower of Jesus I clam to be? I won’t repeat the entire sermon (you’re welcome), but you can listen to the podcast for Solid Rock (speaker Jose Zayas under Recent Teaching) if you’d like.

However, here are a few things that stood out to me:

  • Just because we’ve accepted the gift of salvation doesn’t mean we’re disciples. Someone can say they’ve been a Christian for x years but that doesn’t mean they’ve truly been following Jesus that whole time. Am I a true disciple?
  • What do disciples do? They surrender everything – all they have and all their relationships and dreams – and follow Christ. They become a servant to others and therefore to Jesus. They are learners, being taught by God on who He is and how to live. They learn how to become like Jesus.
  • Disciples aren’t perfect. They’re very very flawed! But they follow hard after Jesus, who is perfect, and seek to become more and more like Him in humility, truth, grace, and all the other things Jesus is.
  • If He’s not my primary passion, above my relationships, my responsibilities, my desires, my dreams, my stuff, my comfort, then I am not truly His disciple. If I love anything more than Jesus – if there is anything I wouldn’t and don’t surrender – I’m not truly following Him at all.
  • Following Jesus will cost me everything! And it will bring me ultimate freedom and satisfaction.

It’s not a legalism thing, where I have to do x, y, and z and avoid a long list of things before I am fit to be a follower of Jesus. Rather, I come to my Jesus broken and flawed, surrendering all and giving up my “rights”, and He welcomes me in His arms and leads the way, teaching me to live in His steps.

So what does this mean for me, today? I came away knowing that I hold on to certain ideas of success in life: what I want my day to look like, my family life to look like, etc. Not that they’re bad things, but I can hold them as “mine” and base my value and success on what I accomplish (or not). I hold on to certain relationships a little too much, trying to impose my will on them or expecting too much from them. I truly desire to give it all over to Him. The awesome thing is, He is still doing His work in me, so I don’t have to beat myself up when I fail! Just get up and keep on waddling after Him. 🙂

As Jose said, keep life in an open hand. So I know I’ll think of that when I raise my hands to Jesus in worship and praise. It all should be loosely held in my hand so that He can do with it what He will. Following Jesus is pretty hard, but it’s beautiful!

“Delight yourself in the LORD, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass. ~ Psalm 37:4,5″ This is one of my favorite verses. I tend to read it as He will actually give me good desires – ones that are in line with the perfect plans He is planning for me.

What do you hold on to?

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

