Thankful on Father’s Day

Today is Father’s Day, and as such, I have been thinking about my dad and some childhood memories. I have a few favorites:

  • Riding in the backpack as a toddler while Dad mowed the lawn or did other work around the house
  • Getting our hands dirty in the warm, sweet smelling soil as we tended our large backyard garden. I still have dreams about that garden sometimes, with the corn and snap peas and tomatoes
  • Hanging out on the back porch with the sun shining through the grapevines and overhead trellis
  • Spending hot summer days up in the woods with Dad, my siblings, my uncle and cousins, as the men cut wood and we played in the forest. He still talks about how I could spot deer/elk from miles away as we rumbled along in the truck (there was money involved – ’nuff said)
  • Playing basketball together. He even coached my team at school often
  • The well-told stories he would tell (the bear got bigger every time he told it)
  • Of course, all the camping and hiking trips. His love of the outdoors is something that is embedded in me
  • And many more fond memories

There is something special and also fragile about the father-daughter relationship. Daughters desire to feel protected, loved, and cherished by their fathers. Even when we grow up, we want to know that we are thought of as special and that our dad’s are proud of us. I know it’s important to my sister as well. They are God-given desires, I think. I confess, I cry every time my dad tells me he’s proud of me. Perhaps not in front of him – don’t want to freak out the men-folk or anything. 😉 But I hide it away in my heart.

I am blessed beyond measure to have a loving dad and such fond childhood memories. I am equally blessed to have a husband that is aware of the fragile wonder of the father-daughter relationship. I love that Aaron purposes to nurture that relationship with our daughter. I cannot wait to be a part of those memories! It is wonderful to remember, as well as anticipate, the good things about the fathers in our lives. Even more wonderful to know that the Father in heaven is the only perfect Dad, and that His love is the only love that can fill in all the gaps.

“See what love the Father has given us, that we should be called Children of God.” ~ 1 John 3:1

Happy Father’s Day Dad!

Happy Father’s Day Aaron!

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thankful on Father’s Day

  1. David says:

    I seem to recall a story about a certain trip to Fred Meyer as well.

  2. Janis says:

    A darling picture of you and your dad…and a sweet tribute. I am proud of you both!
    I am enjoying all your writings Tauna.

Leave a Reply

