Fourth of July crafts and activities for toddlers

Let me just say this up front: I am not a crafty person. Well, occasionally crafty like a fox. Certainly never crafty like a Martha Stewart. I have accepted this, although I admit I love to hang out at my crafty friends’ houses and bask in their creativity.

Let’s put it this way – anything I can do, you can do better. Perhaps not the inspiration you were looking for, but at least a pretty good confidence booster for ya! 😉 But for all my lack of skill, I love crafts and love stealing ideas from other people.

In an effort to start doing some kind of holiday activities with the kids, here’s what I am doing with my 2 1/2 year old son for the fourth of July:

Patriotic fruit pops!
Of course, mine look nothing like the beauties in this blogger’s post, but it was fun anyway! I used almond milk with agave syrup to sweeten it, some frozen hood strawberries, and blueberries we picked last summer.

Image by "The Magic Onions"

Read a book.
I snagged this book about the Pledge of Allegiance at the homeschool conference used book sale. Not that Jaron will learn the Pledge of Allegiance this year, but he LOVES the American flag and there are some great pictures. Doesn’t hurt to read it to him as well.

Color a flag.
He’s 2. It’s not going to be in the lines or even the right colors. But I’ll probably print out a coloring sheet and let him at it. We’ll talk about the shapes and colors, showing him the pictures in the book, the flag hanging on our porch, and a cheap plastic flag hanging I got at the dollar store.  It may sound silly, but Jaron LOVES this kind of activity. 🙂 This is the printout I’ll probably use.

Make cards.
Again, the dollar store, where I bought some classroom cutouts of American flags. He’ll love making cards for the people we’ll see on Independence Day. He can color and draw on the blank side and put some of the cheap red, blue, and silver foil stars I bought on them.

Make pancakes.
If I’m feeling particularly motivated on Sunday morning, I may make some pancake stacks with blueberries and strawberries on them. Perhaps even split the batter into three sets, adding red dye to one and blue dye to another. I already bought some flag pattern napkins and plates (yep, dollar store), so maybe it will actually happen! I got the idea from iammommy.

Fireworks, toddler style.
Meaning a yummy bbq dinner I don’t have to cook (courtesy of my parents and sister) followed by sparklers and snakes . Home by 7. 🙂 Who needs darkness to enjoy the 4th? Not me.

Happy Independence Day!

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Crafts for the decidedly uncrafty, Kids, Traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

