Suddenly home

I had a moment today where I was suddenly home.

It’s been a fairly lazy Sunday because of the guys being sick and an apparent lack of motivation on my part to do pretty much anything. Aaron was outside with the kids (I know, even when he’s sick – what a guy!) and I was hiding out inside reading. My reading gave me a jolt of energy and inspiration and I went outside to see my family.

It was a perfect little snippet of time. White fluffy specks and tiny silver wings zooming around in the sunshine, the slow moving shadows of our oak tree, big and sweet strawberries in the garden, warm toasty air that smelled like honey… My son digging his head straight into his sandbox. My daughter bouncing excitedly in her exersaucer. My husband putting together a chair so that he could sit in his soon-to-be-finished wood shed. Me, a very joyful woman.¬†Everything was in chaos, but it was a calm, sweet, and wonderfully gentle chaos.

It’s so easy sometimes to simply miss out on the moment. So many times I get caught up in the to do list and the projects that I forget to enjoy the gifts God has given me already. My walk with God is similar. Sometimes I get so caught up in my part of the relationship that I loose sight of His part, which is the really lovely part. I was reminded today to take the time to just enjoy my Savior. To be still and know that He is God.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

