Writing it all down for my kids

I was reading through a mom-blog about gardening or something when she mentioned that she was mainly writing as a record for her future daughters. Genius! I’ve often read of women making “homekeeper’s/household journals” or something along those lines. They are often intended to record how they do things and what they learn for their own future reference and so that their kids can learn from their experiences later on. Well, in my world, all things paper end up in some dusty pile and therefore become not only useless but impossible to locate.

Most moms don’t do anything like that kind of notebook, but I can totally see the value in it! How to cook, clean, keep a house running, make a house a warm and inviting home, build relationships, establish a Christ-centered family life, encourage traditions, handle conflicts, etc. etc. It seems like it’s worth a shot anyway. I mean, sure, they could be uninterested in it, or find it redundant because I’m always blabbing on and on about it anyway. Or even better, I’ll have kids that are simply those kinds of people I try not to envy – who seem to just know all that stuff without learning it. But I’d love to try it anyway. If it weren’t for the fact that I couldn’t make a coherent notebook/journal to save my life.

But this… this is my idea of a homekeeper’s journal! A blog with categories I can toss things into and it will keep it fairly neat and tidy for my current and future kids. Not to mention anyone else who might find it interesting. Perfect. So I hereby declare this a primary goal in my blogging adventure.It’s gonna be awesome!

For me, anyway. 😉

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing it all down for my kids

  1. Bethie says:

    I like the idea of just “tossing things into it”. I have tried keeping journals, and I’ve tried blogging. I get all caught up in timelines and if I get out of order or miss something I feel like I have to catch up before continuing on. Maybe if I was purposefully random, I’d be more successful… Well, I can dream anyway, right? hehe

Leave a Reply

