Healthy (or at least, health-ier) Berry Crisp

I had some great women over for lunch today. Taco salad (courtesy of that giant bag of shredded lettuce Daniele gave me) and raspberry crisp.

I LOVE berries! My son only likes strawberries so far and will tolerate blueberries. But Sami and I… we like ’em all, especially the raspberries and blackberries and all those kind of nummy berries. We’ve gone berry picking 3 times this year and I plan to go a ton more so I can stock up on frozen berries and jam all year round!

But for today I decided to do something with the fresh berries other than horking them by the fistful. 🙂 You should see Sami when she does that. I think she actually had some in her armpits and ears yesterday.

So I got some brown sugar and butter from the store because I was out, but upon starting up the recipe, realized I didn’t have any regular sugar. So I looked up a recipe that used agave syrup since I bought some at Costco a while ago. Agave syrup is a low glycemic sweetener that is therefore theoretically better for diabetics.

Since I’m pregnant, and was boarderline gestational diabetic last time, it seems like a good choice. However, there seems to be some debate about that (what a shocker, right?). I’ll let you know what I find out because I’m gonna post on my gestational diabetes journey during this pregnancy.

Anyway, I found a recipe over at The Healthy Apron. I like it because you can use all agave or part agave part brown sugar. It also uses whole wheat flour in the topping and rolled oats (I just used old fashioned, not quick cooking). Take a look at her site to find the recipe and nutritional information. I did make some changes. First, I used raspberries instead of blueberries. I had some fresh and some frozen. I took a cup of fresh and crushed them and then used frozen for the remainder.

The other change I made was to take a call from a friend I hadn’t heard from in a while, not hear the beep of the timer, and then forget it was still in the oven after I hung up! I’ve said it before: anything I can do, you can do better! 😀 So, burned raspberry crisp. Still totally edible, even though the topping was a bit too chewy.

We had it with whipped cream. The berries were a bit tart and overall it was less sweet than a typical crisp, which I kind of liked. Everyone else seemed to like it as well! I’ll probably make it again, but without the burning part. 🙂

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Gestational Diabetes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

