Mission Statements for Moms (or anyone else, for that matter)

When I worked in the software industry, I really loved planning my working world Franklin Covey style, with a mission statement, roles and goals, tasks ordered by importance and dependencies, etc. I found that as soon as I was able to get that system set up in a way that worked for me and was maintainable, I accomplished a lot more and at higher quality than I otherwise would have.

I don’t know about you, but I could use some of that kind of assist lately. This is from one of my favorite blogs, Inspired to Action, and comes in the form of a free ebook. You just subscribe to the blog via RSS or email and it will be sent to you. Or, you can look at the series of posts she wrote on the topic that eventually led to the ebook. I really think it’s going to be a good tool for me. It would be a great tool for anybody at any stage of life, actually! (FYI – this same author provides a free ebook for moms on creating an effective morning routine. I’ll get to that one soon!!!)

You start by writing down your roles and then you write down what you’d like to accomplish in those roles. For example, your roles might be a wife, a mom, a software designer, a children’s ministry worker, a frienda servant of the Lord, an activist… whatever your “roles” are.

You write down key phrases that describe what you want to be like in these roles or how you’d want others to see you. For example, I want Aaron to think of me as a wife who is a safe haven for his heart, who builds him up, who is a companion and best friend, and so on.

The ebook is very simple, quickly allowing you to further devlop this line of thinking and then arrive at a mission statement that will help you prioritize activities in your life and keep you motivated toward your ultimate goals, even on the bad days. 🙂 I think it’s a fantastic idea. I’m doing it.

What do you think? Would having something like this for the main roles in your life help you? Have you ever done anything like this before?

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Homemaking, Just Some Thoughts, Kids, Marriage, Mission/Vision Statements. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mission Statements for Moms (or anyone else, for that matter)

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you like the ebook.

    I read several of your posts – you crack me up. And I totally relate to the 3 kid thing… 🙂 Congrats!

  2. Pingback: My personal mission statement | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

