Command Station, Part 1: Creating a household command station

There are a couple of things you should know about me: 1) I am not good at running a household. At least, not naturally. I’m pretty much faking it, and often badly. That’s not some kind of false modesty or cry for approval – it’s just the facts. 2) I love charts and checklists! They are what help me fake it ’till I make it. 🙂 Keeping a home is a giant part of my job and I take it very seriously. If I hired someone to keep my house for me, how would I evaluate them if they performed how I am performing? That’s scary, right there. So I work and study and practice to improve.

In our kitchen, we have a tiny command station. Some of the pieces are new and some have been in use for a year or two. I’m alwasy changing and perfecting my command station to help me succeed during the day.

Here are the elements of our command station as it stands today. I’m going to post more info on each one later.

1. Goals. I’ve been meaning to add this idea I got from a friend and finally did so just today. It includes our short-term goals relating to house projects, long term goals, which can be financial, household, marriage, etc., and goals relating to the kids or parenting.

2. Housekeeping checklist. I heart my housekeeping checklist. It is laminated. It is beautiful. It helps us to not live in a pigsty and manage to clean the basic things at least once a week. It also has some couponing reminders on it for me.

3. Jaron’s Scripture Memorization Chart. At his eye-level. This includes the scriptures we are helping him learn, corresponding to the goals we are working on with him at the time. There are foil stars and little cards and pictures involved. And every once in a while, I admit, ice cream is involved as well.

4. Food/Nutrition. I like to make sure both the kids are getting the recommended servings of the various foods they need every day to thrive. So I made a chart for the refrigerator and I mark them off as I go through the day. I don’t freak out over each day, but it gives me an idea at the end of the week if we’re developing some bad habits or need to start upping the greens, or whatever. I felt ridiculous the first time I tried the chart, but it has proven a valuable tool. I’ll probably have to do something like this for me as well soon because of the gestational diabetes thing. I haven’t figured that out yet.

5. Meal Planning. This isn’t actually in the kitchen, but it is a part of my “command station” nonetheless. It seems to be the only piece that I manage to keep up with better electronically rather than with manual writing. But some of you may prefer to print and laminate it. Basically, I sketch out our meals for the week and it helps me with budgeting and not resorting to eating out or snacking away our dinners.

I would love to know how you guys plan these areas of your life! Whether you work or stay at home or are retired, do you just wing it or do you have your own version of a command station? I may pop around to some friends and ask if I can take pictures of theirs to share with everyone as well.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Homemaking, Keeping House and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Command Station, Part 1: Creating a household command station

  1. Smolko says:

    You have some good Ideas, I am especially interested in the meal planning and food and Nutrition. Even with a Chef background, this is my hardest as a stay at home Dad.

  2. Pingback: Command Station, Part 2: Nutrition chart | Proverbial Girl Duck

  3. Pingback: Command Station, Part 3: Daily and weekly housekeeping checklist | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

