Command Station, Part 3: Daily and weekly housekeeping checklist

Download the Weekly Household Checklist. Customize it. Laminate it. You’ll be glad you did!

Even more than nutrition for the kids, I have a particularly hard time keeping up with housework. Our housekeeping checklist is a big part of the command station and has been the best tool in helping me improve in that area. But just between us… don’t go into the upstairs bathroom right now. ‘Nuff said.

I originally made this at Aaron’s request. He wanted to make sure he was helping around the house. The idea was to put his first initial on stuff he did and my first initial on stuff I did. It was a grand idea, but as you can see, it’s X’s instead of initials for us these days. Not that he doesn’t do stuff around the house. He’s just not the checklist person I am.

There are three sections on the checklist:

1. Daily Chores. These are most of the things that need to happen pretty much every day. Put an X or an initial each day it is completed. You could add labels across the top for the day of the week. I was trying to save space and we don’t seem to miss those labels. Of course, you can also add chores if there’s something else you want to track.

2. Weekly Chores. I figured out our weekly chores and put them in order by the day of the week we like to do them and also grouped them as it made sense to do so. For example, the trash is picked up on Monday, so that is the first on the list. I like to clean out the fridge as I’m planning meals for the week, and I like to do them Monday or Tuesday right before I start looking for coupon savings, so they’re grouped together. You get the idea. Actually, I updated the file before attaching it to reflect some new weekly schedules. Time to print and laminate a new one for us! Each time I do a chore in the weekly area, I put an X in that row under the column for that day of week.

3. Special Projects. This is where I write in projects or unusual chores that might come up during the week. I may need to rotate the food in the chest freezer. The dishwasher may break and need fixed. Stuff like that. Things I’d like Aaron to attend to seem to end up in that area. 🙂 Again, put an X in that row under the day it was done.

Iv’e found it to be relatively simple in practice and very effective keeping me on track during the week. I like that it’s flexible. If there are chores in the daily area that don’t need to get done every day, skip days! If there are weekly chores that need to be done more than once a week, it’s ok if there are two X’s in that row!

Well, hope that’s helpful to someone!

Guess I better tackle the upstairs bathroom now.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Keeping House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

