Command Station, Part 4: Meal planning chart

Download the Weekly Meal Chart.

Meal planning. Some people love it, some hate it, and other just haven’t found a system that works for them. This is the picture of my meal planning chart. I filled it in a couple of days ago.  Now, it’s WAY more filled in than it typically is, but that is because I’m trying to ramp up this gestational diabetes diet.

Normally this is what I do:

1. Note Aaron’s work schedule in the Shift row. His schedule changes weekly and sometimes he’s not home for dinner. This may not be relevant for your household.

2. Jot down playdates, activities, events that might effect meal planning in the Notes/Other section. Yah, I’m basically duplicating those events from my calendar, but it’s handy to have it here. This is also where I make notes to myself to thaw something or bake something for a future meal and where I add a note about something I might need from the store.

3. Look through my fridge, freezer, and pantry, and start coming up with dinners based on what I already have. I typically only fill in dinners and not the other meals. If there’s a special meal I’d like to plan, I’m really trying to buckle down on spending, or if I have dietary things to consider, I’ll fill out other areas. I also often only plan meals out for 3-4 days. But it’s nice to have the whole week planned sometimes.

4. If I need something to complete a meal, I jot it down in the Notes area. I do my meal planning before grocery shopping. So as I’m going through my pantry/freezer/fridge and planning meals, I start creating a consolidated grocery list to take with me to the store.

The little line across the bottom is just to get me to think about other meals I may not have tried in a while.

Anyway, that’s meal planning in our home!

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

