Command Station, Part 5: Daily Direction

I need to have a little daily direction for both me and the kids to get through my day well. This direction flows directly from our “Big Picture” part of of the command station, which is the last and most important part. More on that later, as well as a wrap-up on this whole command station concept.

For my daily direction, I have two things right now: a Mommy board and a scripture chart for Jaron. I’m sure at some point Jaron and the other kids will have things like chore charts and such, but for now a simple scripture chart is fine.

The Mommy chart/scratch pad has a brief note to myself about something I want to focus on in particular. Right now, it’s a reminder that I don’t have to let my feelings (helloooooo, prego hormones!) rule my actions or attitudes, but instead “take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (2 Corinthians 10:5) . It’s also where I scratch down thoughts or to-do items I don’t want to forget and personal goals I want to keep fresh in mind.

I’ve blogged before about teaching Jaron scripture using a chart and how we’re trying to do that. A picture of the chart is below. Basically, I make two index cards with the scripture we’ve chosen and a picture for him to associate with the scripture. One card goes on the board and one just floats around the house for him to practice with. He only needs to say the scripture and reference to me once and he gets a star for that day. But we say the scripture a lot throughout the day when lesson opportunities arise. For some, we even put them to music. Like Ephesians 6:1 to the tune of row row row your boat. 🙂

Once he finishes a row, he gets some kind of prize and we move onto the next one. So far, review mostly comes up as a relevant situation (obedience, whining, etc) comes up. But I’m also going to laminate one of the cards for each scripture and put it in a photo book he can flip through.

Anyway, this may not work out for you and your family. The main point is that you figure out what you need for your “daily direction” (things you want to work on, things you want the kids to work on, a scratch pad, reminders, prayer lists, etc.) and then come up with ways to keep those things in view throughout the day.

Last in this series: The Big Picture. Yes, I’m working backwards. 🙂

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Homemaking, Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Command Station, Part 5: Daily Direction

  1. Pingback: My personal mission statement | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

