Time to tell my brain to shut up and take a rest already

Sometimes I have a hard time not thinking. Last night I caught myself dreaming about a conversation with an acquaintance about sqaure foot gardening, and in my dream managed to figure out how to do that even though I’ll be very pregnant in the spring. It woke me up at about 2:30am.

I woke up again at 3:30 and 5. And then finally at 6:30am with the kids. At some point in there I dreamt I was reading a book (this reading type of dream happens a lot for me) about raising families to be Christ-centered and how to teach Biblical principles to young children. It was the same book that I am currently, in fact, reading.

Yeah… someone needs to take it down a notch.

Incidentally, Aaron told me about the dream HE had, where he figured out a theory of time that others had not previously come up with and, although right, was being mocked for it. He explained the theory to me and my head hurt. I felt satisfied with my less-geeky status in comparison and didn’t bother telling him about my dreams. 🙂

Anyway, There’s really nothing like a toddler and a 10-month old to keep my wheels spinning and then bring them to a sudden and refreshing halt when needed. My kids are way cute, just to give you that background tidbit of info. So I’m going to tell you some recent, lovely moments I had with them.

It’s been really hot here the past few days (news flash!) and Sami has had a hard time sleeping. She’s also teething – one weird looking tooth poking it’s way out on the top. Poor thing! One day she pretty much screamed through all her nap times. I finally went and got her and went out on the front porch so she wouldn’t wake Jaron. I sat in the rocking chair and watched her and sang to her. The movement and singing calmed her down and we were at once staring at each other intensely.

Those of you with kids know what I’m talking about – it’s a locking gaze where you’re pretty sure time stands still and you’re looking into the sweet face of your little angel. She has her Dad’s eyes. They’re amazing. She was very still and started to reach up to my face. I was all teary-eyed! Then she stuck her finger in my nose and broke into a huge grin!!! Bubble pops, reality begins, and we both are laughing at each other! That’s my girl. Keepin’ it real.

Samantha is over the top cute and cuddly. She gets lots of attention and lately Jaron has been showing some concern about it. So he’s been going out of his way to make sure we express our love and appreciation of him. It can be pretty funny. One thing I love is when he gets up from his naps, he goes to the top of the stairs and announces himself “Mommy! I woke up! I have puppies!” He sleeps with two “lovies” that are baby gund puppy-blankets. To him, every time he wakes up with his puppies, it’s news-worthy.

I’ll come up the stairs and he’ll sit there with a coy smile and acts all shy or sometimes cranky. I’ll scoop him up in my arms and say “Jaron I love you! My big boy Jaron” and he’ll happily hold my neck as we bound down the stairs. On a really blessed day, he’ll get really REALLY close to my face and says “I love you Mommy” or “I missed you Mommy.” I love that little boy.

I’m sure baby #3 will be just as amazing. Hoping it takes a good turn from the current make-mommy-throw-up-a-lot trend. I’m, sure it will.

I’m sure you know I could go on and on with examples about my kids and how they touch my heart. Like when Aaron was reading to us from Jaron’s Bible today: there was a picture of Jacob at a well leaning over it, and Jaron pointed at it and said “He lost his phone in there!”

Or how the other day when Aaron was pointing to a picture of Adam and Eve all sad and leaving the garden, Jaron turns to me and says with a knowing look “They’re sad, Mommy. They had a constabacon.” That’s Jaron’s word for consequence.

Or how Sami says “Wow” at the precise moment that a certain annoying toy, which she and Jaron will hit over and over, says “Wow.”

And on and on… ok I’m done.

It’s good to remember that these moments are the sweetness of all the effort. Aaron and I enjoy our kids so much. What a blessing they are to us! It’s amazing to know that God thinks that way about us too. The moments where our heart sings with God’s and we cuddle up next to Him and say “I love you.” Of course, we don’t stick our finger in His nose and laugh. Every analogy has it’s limits.

Go ahead – share the cute stories! I LOVE hearing cute things about other people’s kids. 🙂

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Cute Stories, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time to tell my brain to shut up and take a rest already

  1. Nikky Piazza says:

    I know that they are not my kids, but God has given me 30 ten year olds to teach, love and enrich for 8 hours a day. It gives me stress and I dream about how I can better teach a concept to them or give them a life lesson that they might not get from home. And some days I feel like I just can’t do it. However after I had a very stressful day today I know that it is all worth it because one of my girls came up to me, hugged me and said “Mrs. Piazza I had a really great day with you today.” It makes me pause take a breath and know that these kids are my focus right now.
    They amaze me in different ways everyday. When an above grade level student takes some of their time to help a below grade level student just because they see them struggling. They draw and color wonderful pictures for me and are thrilled when I hang them on my wall behind my desk next to my husbands art work.
    Hopefully God will bless Jim and I with a child of our own soon, until then I believe I am right where He wants me to be 🙂
    Sorry for my rant, I think I just needed to decompress with another believer.

    • GirlDuck says:

      This is really really awesome. Thank you so much for adding this comment! You’re obviously a fantastic teacher who pours into her students; a true blessing to your kids. And they are a blessing to you in turn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

