Stewardship and Frugality


Image Source: Photobucket

Becoming a stay at home mom has made saving money and living frugally a necessity (totally worth it though). I also think of it as our responsibility to use the money God has given us wisely and shrewdly. The surprise for me was that I actually grew to enjoy it as a hobby! Weird, I know. It can be a fun and fulfilling challenge to continue to improve at living well on less.

There are many many ways people save money and live frugally. Some may not be appropriate for you or your family at this particular stage, or perhaps ever in the future. We’ve found that just picking a few things to start working on is best. If it doesn’t work, toss it and maybe try it later. Some things will be more doable a year or two down the road than they are now.

After moving in April, I’ve been having a hard time getting back on track with our budget and the frugal practices we’d established before. So with that in mind, and also because this is one of my favorite topics, I decided I’d write for a while about how we save money and live frugally. It will give me the necessary reminders and focus and just might help someone else too!

Here are a few of the things I’ll cover (all of these posts will be added to the Saving Money / Living Frugally category)

  • Tithing/Giving (another of my favorite topics)
  • Living Simply
  • Utilities/”Fixed” Expenditures
  • Eating Out
  • Groceries
  • Frugal Meals and Menu Planning
  • Household Products
  • Baby Products
  • Home Furnishing and Maintenance

I’m sure there will be more. What other areas do you think are important for frugal living?

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Saving Money / Living Frugally. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

