Sweet Potato or Butternut Squash Fries

Oh my, these are SO good. I originally made them last year trying to come up with some healthy snacks for my kids and ended up eating nearly the whole pan by myself. They’re easy, healthy, frugal, and take advantage of fall produce. You can use sweet potatoes, yams, or butternut squash!

Preheat oven to 400

  • Cut up a medium or large sweet potato into thick fries (about 1 inch)
  • Coat lightly in a bowl with olive oil or Pam
  • spread on a cookie sheet
  • sprinkle with kosher salt
  • Bake at 400 for 40 min – 1 hr, checking often to prevent burning
  • They’re done when easily pierced with a fork

They usually aren’t super crispy. But I like them that way and so do my kids. If you want, you can blanch them and pat dry before baking and put parchment paper down first. That helps them to be more like fries. You can also try adding pepper and other spices.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Homemaking, Saving Money / Living Frugally. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Sweet Potato or Butternut Squash Fries

  1. Annette says:

    I learned from my “America’s Test Kitchen” cookbook to soak the fries in water for 10 mn or so before baking. This somehow seals in the moisture while allowing the outside to get crispy. If you ever are after a crispier fry, you might try it: the ones I’ve made have been well received – but thus far I’ve only used regular potatoes. Perhaps I need to convince myself to invest in a mandolin-style slicer sometime, because the labor of chopping up the potatoes puts me off the whole project most of the time.

Leave a comment