How We’re Doing

Life has slowed down. WAY down! It’s a good thing, people. Jaron is almost 3 and going through a new development and discipline phase. Why am I always caught off guard when that happens? I know why – because my brain has gone wacky since having Jaron. I hear they’re now saying that it’s a myth – the idea that women’s brain function or memory changes when they get pregnant. Yah, well, they can kiss my rear.

We are finally digging into a real daily routine, chores and responsibilities for Jaron, reward systems, and homeschool preschool (planned playtime, basically). He’s responding so well that I’m realizing he needed it – we all did! It’s finally happening because I FINALLY learned to let go of my desire to get everything perfect the first time (and in a way that works forevermore) and just try stuff out. Besides, kids are resilient. If I screw up really bad, we’ll help them find a good therapist.

Samantha is walking like a champ, going through that whole cling-to-mom-at-all-costs phase. But she has to be the most cuddly baby ever! Well, at least she is compared to Jaron. She just loves to wake up a little early (grumble) and cuddle and giggle with me for a while. Sometimes she’ll drop whatever she’s doing, charge over in her unstable way, and bury her head in my neck. One thing people always notice about her is how much she loves reading. Several times a day she’ll crawl over to one of the reading spots and just flip through books. She even carefully flips through regular paper books (not board books) instead of eating or ripping them like Jaron did at her age.

Aaron is generally doing well, although he’s super exhausted right now and doesn’t seem able to catch up on the rest he needs. He’s not sleeping well, and with kids, wife, job, house, etc. no sleep is not good. Looks like he’ll probably have to have surgery on his hand soon too. Something wrong with the tendon or something. That’s not good when you work with computers all day. But work is going well anyway, and he’s also enjoying his new-ish role as house church leader. We’re meeting some wonderful people who are coaching and praying us through this transition. He’s also really enjoying his time with the kids and is taking Jaron to a gymnastics class once a week for Daddy/Jaron time. He really is an amazing husband and father.

I’m doing really well. I posted a while ago about some depression I was dealing with. That is under control and now I only have to manage the normal preggo mood swings. 🙂 I can deal with that. Like I said, I’m getting better about letting go of things in general, and learning that projects will happen in slow motion, partly because I’m caring for small children and partly because of my personality and learning curve. I cut way back on our weekly and monthly obligations so our weeks are pretty quiet and slow-paced. Our holiday plans are extremely modest, so I’m not stressing about that. It’s been so good for us! I think it’s helping me focus on what is most important to me and to our family so I can better concentrate my efforts in those directions.

That’s about it!

Oh wait – I’m sure you’re dying to know how it’s going with my hair. 🙂 Still using baking soda and vinegar but I need to adjust it because my hair’s getting kind of dry. We’ll see how it goes. I’m still feeling like it’s not that much better than regular shampoo, at least as far as how my hair feels and looks. There, now you can rest knowing how that turned out.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How We’re Doing

  1. Saundra says:

    Your dad and I like this entry. You are most wonderful and creating a lot of info out there that is very worth reading. Give those kids and husband another hug from us and take one from each from us. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

