Do You Make Resolutions/Goals for the New Year?

Source: Photobucket

I’m not much of a New Years resolution-maker. I tried last year and flopped, mostly because they were not measurable or attainable goals. They all had that panicky “I just want to be a better person” vibe. Goals and resolutions do have their place though. Throughout the year I am convicted or motivated to initiate change – or even to simply accept the work that God is doing in me.

The New Year has become and excellent time of reflection for me. The Christmas season impresses upon my heart the hope and renewal He gives us when we seek Him. My spirit and my attitude are more in line with His, and I feel better able to hear His direction in my life. Those are the kind of goals and resolutions that succeed anyway: the ones that come from Him and are accomplished through Him.

This year I have a few things that He has given me to consider. I probably won’t have my “plan of action” done in time for New Year’s day, but that’s ok. I’m a big fan of measurable and reasonable goals, but I need to do some praying on some of these before I know how He wants me to tackle them.

  1. Read through the Bible in 2011. To grow in the Word and be in a better frame of mind to serve my family. The last (and only) time I read straight through the Bible was right after I gave my life to Christ, and it was really awesome for me. That was about 6 years ago. I’ve tried since then but have failed.

    This goal does have a plan. I found a “key passages” reading plan in my Sanctuary women’s Bible. I want to make this a yearly habit, so I figured something easier to accomplish would be good this time. I’ll be reading the plan with a freind and we’ll email each other our thoughts. I’ll also not freak out if I miss one or two days and will just keep going. I still need to figure out the right space in my day to do this regularly though.

  2. Track spending to our budget and reduce grocery costs. To build character and discipline in myself, honor God with what He’s given us, and help foster frugal and healthy habits for my family. This still needs more planning. Since we moved back in April I’ve lost my good budget tracking and grocery savings habits and they just haven’t been the same since. Doing the refresher on coupons has helped, but tracking to the budget and keeping close tabs on grocery spending has not been accomplished.
  3. To read more fiction. For me. I love reading and I love literature. It’s important to me. I’ve noticed that since having children I spend nearly all my time reading on parenting/Christian living books. I want to at least alternate those readings with a good work of fiction.
  4. To learn or make 12 new things (one per month). For fun. I read this idea on a blog a while ago and loved it. I don’t know what the things will be yet. Some can be super small or big undertakings. They’ll probably be modest choices since I’m pretty busy with kids/home/husband already.
  5. To use good words. For myself and all those around me. Words are so powerful. I want mine to be blessings instead of burdens. I want the words I speak to build up and encourage – to strengthen people and point them to Jesus. I don’t want them to be frustrated or hasty words. I don’t want them to be useless words. I still need a plan for this too. It will probably involve at least memorizing a few related scriptures.

These are the things that God is focusing me on for the moment in His familiar “You know, you might want to think about this” way. 🙂 Of course, there are many other areas where He is working on me, especially as a Mommy and wife.  I’m the kind of person that needs constant and heavy pruning. I’m so grateful that Jesus loves me so much that He continues to shape me each day and not just once a year.

The New Year is approaching fast! In what areas of your life are you getting that nudge from God?

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Just Some Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do You Make Resolutions/Goals for the New Year?

  1. Pingback: Good Reads – December 2010 – Round 5 | Proverbial Girl Duck

  2. Annette says:

    Ughhh… I don’t feel like I have the (quiet) time to think through anything like resolutions for 2011. But I wrote down a few specific ones anyway… http://webtarkeena.livejournal.com/198460.html

  3. Pingback: 12 New Things in 2011 | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

