The Lovely Quiet Spaces

I haven’t blogged in a long time. I’ve been a bit scattered, but not really more busy than normal. I guess I’ve just been thinking. I am enjoying a time in my life where there is not a lot to really worry about. Nothing has really changed from before except myself.

For example, in the past I’ve often caught myself identifying some upcoming event as the goal of daily living. Do you know what I mean? I look forward to the next holiday, the next birthday, the next vacation, the next appointment,… whatever. Not that looking forward to things is bad, but without that “goal” in mind, I can sometimes be kind of aimless.

For the time being, things are a bit different. Things are still scattered, but daily life is just… slower. More tangible and “present”.

Simplified.

Today I found myself suddenly in one of those lovely quiet spaces where I could simply enjoy.  My kids were splashing in the tub and putting letters up on the walls. They played together, pretended to be boats, and enjoyed testing their Mommy’s limits (that is, until they crossed them). They slipped on the tiles, bonked heads, and consoled each other. They ran around like crazy people in their duck and monkey towels.

We had story time, and after putting Samantha to bed, Jaron and I stayed up for a while telling stories and singing songs to each other. Jaron told me about his little heart. First he informed me that he didn’t like going to the grocery store, Cookie Monster goes to the potty a lot, and that kicking yourself in the face isn’t nice. I was tracking with him so far.

Then, with his big serious eyes, he told me that he missed his Mommy, and that he was waiting for his Grandpas and Grandpas (which means all of the grandparents). I’m not sure what he meant by all that, but I believed him anyway and gave him a cheer-up hug. Of course, it worked instantly. Finally, he told me that the I needed to go to bed because in the morning the dogs would be there. And that’s where he lost me.

But I am so enjoying these little snapshots in time that are gone instantly but will stay with me forever. Days like these bring into focus what God has called me to in this season. They make me sigh with contentment and tremble at the responsibility. Seeing my husband and children with refreshed eyes stirs up in me a tremendous desire to “lead a life worthy of your calling, for you have been called by God.” (Ephesians 4:1)

Thankfully, He gives me all I need to succeed at this calling:

Himself.

…and peanut butter and chocolate ice cream.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lovely Quiet Spaces

  1. David says:

    I’m so very tempted to go buy some dogs tonight and bring them by as gifts for Jaron and Samantha in the morning.

  2. Annette says:

    I’m with you: I’ve almost always felt that I needed something / some event to be looking forward to. As Christmas and New Years and finally even our anniversary wrapped up I had to seriously counsel myself that all I really needed to do was make it through the long cold months of January and February and then it’d all be OK because David is starting his Sabbatical in March. On a smaller scale I’m always looking forward to the weekend, and often it’s broken down even smaller – like “just so long before David gets home in the evening,” or even “just so long before my radio program starts!” :} I had not thought about whether or not this prevented me from “living in the moment” as it were, though. Perhaps it does.
    On the other hand, I will note that the ancient Jewish calendar was littered with holidays – not just the weekly Sabbaths, but the monthly new moon ceremonies as well as several major festivals throughout the year. I can only imagine how comforting and motivating it must have been to those in a far more manual labor-centric culture to have those periods of rest and celebration always on the horizon. I suspect that in some ways we’re simply designed to function this way. Not that this should prevent us deriving great enjoyment from those unscheduled moments when we play “dinosaurs” with our sticky-handed toddler over his bowl of Cheerios that is probably going to spill at any moment… 🙂

    • GirlDuck says:

      I totally agree! It’s good to have things to look forward to and celebrations to mark the year, especially those long winter months. For me, it’s just as important to make sure I’m not always planning and “looking forward” to such an extent that I forget to savor and enjoy what’s happening right now! I’m sure I’ll need to be more aware of this once things get started with homeschooling in a few years.

Leave a Reply

