Special Songs for My Children

I have a special song I sing for each kid. I don’t know what Reagan’s will be, but Jaron and Sami hear theirs every night.

For Samantha, I sing “Day is Done” as I rock her before putting her down in the crib. I’ve done that since she was born, and so now as soon as I start singing, her eyes droop, head hits my shoulder, and she’s ready to sleep. It’s pretty great.

I chose Jaron’s song much later. I used to sing “I See the Lord”,  “Jesus Loves Me”, or “Amazing Grace”. I still do sing those to both of them at various times. But Jaron’s song is now officially “You Can Always Come Home” from the Slugs and Bugs and Lullabies CD. I first heart it at the end of a Veggie Tales movie and it stuck. I bought the album, started singing it, and now Jaron asks for it every time I put him to bed.

Here are the lyrics (I’m sure I got a few wrong as this is from memory):

_________

I love you today and I love you tomorrow
I love you as deep as the sea
I love you in joy and I love you in sorrow
You can always come home to me

There once was a man who found him a treasure
Buried out under a tree
He sold all he had to own it forever
The treasure is you, you see

I love you today and I love you tomorrow
I love you as deep as the sea
I love you in joy and I love you in sorrow
You can always come home to me

There once were some sheep safe on the farm
And one little lamb got loose
The shepherd went out and carried it home
That little lamb is you

I love you today and I love you tomorrow
I love you as deep as the sea
I love you in joy and I love you in sorrow
You can always come home to me

_________
I love this song. I think of how God went out and found me and carried me home, and how He still does that for me today. I think of how passionately He loves my kids – I have no greater desire as a mom than that my children will have a life-long, genuine relationship with Jesus as their savior and friend.  I think of how my love will always be available for my children, no matter how far they stray.  And of how my son may very well remember this song for the rest of his life.
What sweet thoughts for a mommy! 🙂
About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Cute Stories, Following Jesus, Just Some Thoughts, Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Special Songs for My Children

  1. Annette says:

    That’s very sweet! I haven’t heard that song – I should look it up and learn it!
    I sing a set of lullabies to James, most with words re-written by my Mom and/or me. “Jesus Loves Me” is one of them most nights. I keep meaning to get around to documenting the revised lyrics.
    The funny thing is that as much of a ritual as the rocking and singing has become, he doesn’t ever ask for a particular song or join in. I don’t think he’s probably inherited his Uncle’s musical talents!

  2. Ginny says:

    Thank you for sharing this precious ritual! I have never heard Jaron’s “song” and I’m going to look it up. Each of my crew had their special song too. Shali’s was my own adaptation of “Goodnight my Someone” from the movie “The Music Man”. Leah’s was “If I were a Gorilla” by Raffi, and Za had “All the Pretty Ponies” as done by Kenny Loggins.
    Such sweet and special memories. They will treasure in their hearts forever. 🙂

Leave a Reply

