12 New Things in 2011

I saw this idea a while ago on the Home Joys blog. A bunch of bloggers were doing this but it started well before January. I liked the idea so much I thought I’d do it for myself anyway this year. I mentioned it in my post about New Year’s resolutions as well. So here’s my 12 things to learn/do!

  • January – Try at least 3 new recipes for cleaning products (I’m thinking detergent I can use on cloth diapers, antibacterial hand soap, and dishwashing detergent that actually cleans dishes).
  • February – Make homemade pasta… that’s edible
  • March – Set up a “square foot” garden (I have raised bed finished. Just need to make a grid and finish setting up a trellis. I also have grand dreams for my grape vines and a new perennial flower and herb garden for cutting.)
  • April – Learn and practice the basics of photography so I can take better pictures of my kids/family
  • May – Learn the basics of hermeneutics (borrowing a book from a friend that she used in a hermeneutics class)
  • June – Set up a worm compost bin
  • July – Learn how to arrange flowers in a vase
  • August – Can vegetables, if I can get a pressure canner by then.
  • September – Complete at least 3 recipes from The Laurel’s Kitchen Bread Book so I can learn how to make great bread without a bread machine.
  • October – learn calligraphy
  • November – Make homemade pie crust
  • December – Learn to knit, and make something to use/give

 

That’s it! What would you put on your list?

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 12 New Things in 2011

  1. GirlDuck says:

    Reading back on my own list here, I laughed at what a little homemaker I’ve become. Not that there’s anything wrong with that! It just still surprises and amuses me sometimes. Someday, however, skydiving will be on this list. 🙂 I’d LOVE to do that!

  2. MommySays says:

    I am looking at your list and thinking how much you amaze me. Way to go Tauna! Much more ambitious than me :)… I would love to learn most of those things, but not in one year. You and Sean can go skydiving together, lol. It’s on his list too. NEVER will be on mine… that’s like my worst nightmare. In fact, when Sean eventually goes, I will be sitting somewhere NOT watching, in a panic, praying non-stop.

  3. MommySays says:

    Oh, but I might have to do this for myself :).

  4. Pingback: 12 New Things – 1a. Homemade Hand Soap | Proverbial Girl Duck

  5. Pingback: 12 New Things – 1b and 1c: Diaper and Dishwasher Detergent | Proverbial Girl Duck

  6. Pingback: 12 New Things – 2. Homemade Pasta | Proverbial Girl Duck

  7. Pingback: 12 New Things – 3. Set Up New Gardens | Proverbial Girl Duck

  8. Pingback: 12 New Things – 4. Take better pictures of my kids | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

