Oh Wheat Tortillas, How I Love Thee..

Whole Wheat Flax Tortillas

I love mexican food. I’ll use/eat flour tortillas for some things like enchiladas, but for most everything else I want more flavor. The store-bought wheat tortillas can be a little blah too, but the whole wheat, whole grain ones are yummy! Unfortunately, they are spendy. So I went on a mini-mission to make my own.

I tried a few recipes. My favorite was for whole wheat and flax meal tortillas. SOOOO good. Even more flavor than the whole grain ones I buy and I gobbled them up within a few days.

I got the original recipe from Group Recipes but changed it a bit:

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour, less 3 tablespoons
  • 3 tablespoons ground flax
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon powdered garlic
  • 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper or chili powder
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 cup warm water
  1. Mix dry ingredients together.
  2. Add oil and water. If it’s too dry, add more water by the teaspoon and mix until ball of dough forms.
  3. Wrap dough ball in cling wrap and let stand for ten minutes.
  4. Separate dough into 12 pieces and form into balls. Cover in cling wrap and let stand for another ten minutes.
  5. Roll out each ball to the desired thickness.
  6. Cook on an un-greased pan or griddle. When it starts to bubble, pop the bubbles and flip it over.
  7. They are done when they are slightly golden on each side.

A few tips:

  • Roll them out by hand – I tried using a tortilla press but I don’t prefer it. If you find it hard to roll, add a tablespoon or two of oil to the recipe until it’s easier.
  • Experiment until you get the tortillas thin enough – I could tell when I got the right thinness because the tortilla would bubble shortly after adding it to the pan. Pop the bubbles!
  • Don’t overcook – It doesn’t take long. Maybe 30 seconds to a minute on each side depending on the pan/heat/recipe. Just test it out until each side is slightly brown.
  • Use immediately or wrap in saran wrap and then foil to store in the fridge (up to 5 days) or freezer. Freezing the dough before rolling is fine too – just cover and let sit until thawed and roll them out!

Try them out and tell me what you think! Do you have any tortilla recipes you like?

A friend just gave me some recipes for traditional flour tortillas and homemade refried beans, so I’ll be trying those next.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Saving Money / Living Frugally and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh Wheat Tortillas, How I Love Thee..

  1. MommySays says:

    Will try! You must have bigger muscles than I though ;).

  2. GirlDuck says:

    No these were easy to roll! I read somewhere that adding more oil to the recipe will help it roll easier if you need it to. Maybe it was too dry last time? Dunno.

  3. Pingback: Whole Wheat Bread and English Muffin Recipes | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

