Yay for Blanket Time!

I heard about blanket time a while ago from the blog Grace is Blessed by God. I also heard the author of that blog speak at the OCEAN homeschool conference last year – she had wonderful advice and words of wisdom for parents of littles. But I never got around to implementing blanket time… until now. 🙂

With another little one on the way, and Samantha in the midst of her clingy stage, I thought it would be a good time to set up habits that would help us during the big transition.

Basically, pick a blanket – not too big. Pick a few toys the kids really like and set them aside for blanket time purposes. During the day, suddenly declare “blanket time!” in a over-the-top enthusiastic way that kids can’t seem to resist. Roll out blanket, set down toys, explain rules: sit on your bottoms, on the blanket, no loud noises.

The first session we did was for 5 minutes. Jaron did great. Actually, he’s really more ready for quiet activity time, but it’s easier to have them both do blanket time together and he seems to prefer it that way. Samantha strayed a few times but got the picture after a while.

The second session lasted 10 minutes. Today they did 20! Samantha only needed correcting a few times. So far I stay by them pretty close. I change the location based on what I need to work on at the time. My hope is that when I’m nursing or need them to be contained and quiet in public, they can do “blanket time” as a kind of portable playpen.

Here is a link to another friend who has tried it and succeeded so far.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yay for Blanket Time!

  1. Nikky Piazza says:

    I think that is a wonderful idea and I will have to file that away in the “mom idea” file. I have been trying to collect tidbits that work for moms that I know so that way I can try them some day lol.

  2. Pingback: Homeschool Preschool – What We’re Doing Right Now | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

