Family Prayer Book

We want to be a family that prays. To help us toward that goal, and teach our children how to pray for others, I came up with a simple prayer book. We’ll be using it first thing during breakfast.

It’s really nothing fancy. I took an old steno book we had on hand. On the back cover I wrote down a list of who/what we’d pray for together, with Jaron’s input. The list includes family, friends, and issues that are important in the kids’ daily lives and that they’ll identify with when praying. The idea is to pray for one each day, including current issues that come to mind. We have about 15 topics so far.

The picture above shows an example of a page. Two topics per page seemed enough. In this one, it’s our family and our house church family. I printed out pictures for each topic and taped them on the pages. I jotted down a few points so we could help lead the prayer, but I’m hoping to have Jaron and eventually Sami add their own ideas. Of course, we’ll practice and teach that we should pray for whatever God lays on our heart for that person, and we can pray for other things during our morning time.

On the back of each page we plan on jotting down any answers to prayer and talking about them with the kids. Those would also be great opportunities to show them how to praise and thank God for the wonderful ways he answers prayer.

Obviously, there is much more that Aaron and I will pray for. It’s meant to be a family prayer book – not an exhaustive list of everything that should be covered in prayer. It actually encouraged me to make my own prayer list since I have various requests floating around and some are bound to fall through the cracks. It’s important to pray as the Spirit leads me to, but also to be faithful in prayer when requests come my way.

We’ve been praying with the kids from the beginning, but I’m hoping this will help create a more meaningful family time that honors God, blesses others, and teaches our children how to pray and listen in intimate relationship with the living God.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Kids, Parenting Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family Prayer Book

  1. Beth Banham says:

    Cool idea.
    Do Dan and I make your prayer list? If you need me to stop by more so that your kids know who they are praying for, I can do that:)

    • GirlDuck says:

      Alas, you’re not in the prayer book. But you’re both on my list as always! You should definitely come over more and get in the book. 🙂 It’s definitely a good idea for us. I just realized today that Jaron thought Amen was something you only say about food! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

