Praying for My Family

Source: Photobucket

I am big on prayer. I think it is one of the most amazing gifts and tools God has given us. The sacrifice of Jesus made it possible for us to boldly approach the throne and have real, intimate conversation with the living God. I think that’s awesome.

I love praying – I still get all nervous weirded out by praying in public, but I do it anyway because it is powerful and puts my focus where it should be: on God instead of myself. I’m always glad when I do! My personal prayer life has highs and lows. One thing I think might help with that, as well as help me remember all the things I CAN pray for, is a few cheat sheets stratiegically placed around the house.

I thought about making my own charts and lists and beautiful wall art scriptures. But I didn’t. Instead, I decided to start simply and print out some free online prayer calendars and take advantage of the invention of 3×5 cards.

You can do a Google search for “prayer calendars” for lots of ideas and resources. I love the Mother’s Prayer Calendar and the Praying Daily for Your Husband Calendar at Inspired To Action (in the Downloadable Resources section). I just printed off three of each and put them in places that I would see often – bathroom, nursing station (for when the baby arrives), and kitchen.

I also wrote verses and passages on index cards and tucked them around the house so I can practice them throughout the day. I grouped some and put them into cheap multi-photo frames from Goodwill. Many of the cards have the keep-me-from-losing-my-sanity scriptures I have come to depend on. Others are supplemental to the prayer calendars so I have lots of God’s Words in my heart to pray through from memory.

This kind of thing works for me – it helps cut through the brain fog and gets me back into a prayer life more substantial and engaged than it otherwise would be. It’s not pretty, aesthetically speaking, because there’s just a bunch of my handwriting (not good) and printouts all over the walls, but it’s worth it.

Anyway, thought someone else might like these ideas and printouts!

Now, on a lighter note, look at this cool and somewhat creepy praying preying mantis!

Source: Photobucket

 

 

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Just Some Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

