12 New Things – 3. Set Up New Gardens

This is my cutting garden. In my dreams. (source: roomu.net)

My March goal for the 12 New Things challenge is to set up a new square foot garden and possibly a perennial cutting garden and an herbal garden. I posted a little while ago about my efforts to get the square foot garden set up and what I planned to do with it.

That was before I went to the nursery. I was like a kid in a candy store! Especially when it came to seeds, which are just so inexpensive and have such pretty packaging. 🙂 Yep, I’m a sucker. I also bought nifty plastic row labels and am considering more row cover because it’s working so well on two of the beds.

This is what I’ve done and all I’ll do before the baby comes, which is March 21! (the excessive detail is for my future reference, btw):

Square Foot Garden:

  • Couldn’t get a grid set up, so I’m winging it. But I wish I’d set up a grid.
  • Planted walla walla onion sets, snap peas, spinach, carrots, nasturtiums, marigolds, bib lettuce, gourmet lettuce mix, rainbow mix of carrots, rainbow Swiss chard, and bush beans.
  • Plan to plant broccoli starts once they’re available.
  • The cover is working well so I’m hoping what I’ve planted will survive any upcoming frosts.
  • Late April or Early May: Plant butternut squash transplants and begin planting new seed as I harvest produce.

Cutting Flower / Herb Garden

  • I have an “L”-shaped bed, one side covered and another not covered. I decided to mix everything in instead of separating them by herb or cutting flower, and also bought a few annual packets.
  • So far, I have planted climbing sweet peas, hollyhocks, chamomile, a rosemary start, catnip, resina calendula, and some extra walla walla sets I had.
  • Once my transplants are ready, I’ll get them out there too.
  • Late April/Early May: plant more seeds to see how they do compared to the ones I started early with row covers.

Transplant Growing Station

  • I started a modest indoor growing station with some plastic starter trays, organic potting soil, and a lamp with a grow light bulb.
  • So far, I have started transplants for sacred basil, echinacea purpurea, summer thyme, painted daisies, shasta daisies, lavender, and more.

Miscellaneous

  • Picked up some pill bags at Rite Aid for storing and labeling seed. I plan on putting them in a jar with a silicone pouch and storing it in the fridge or freezer.
  • I need to some maintenance work on the front yard strawberries and plant my new flower bulbs.
  • I need to do some training work on the grape vines and fill the bed with clover.
  • I need to write down what I planted where and document what worked and what didn’t. I never remember that stuff the next season.
  • In May/June, we’ll be visiting some friends who generously offered to let us take some cuttings and starts from their fabulous garden. Can’t wait!

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Homemaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 12 New Things – 3. Set Up New Gardens

  1. another dad says:

    OH YAH! and in your spare time you’re having a new baby girl Monday. Bet she looks like an angel and grows like a weed!…..
    Good Luck Tauna, my heart and prayers are with you and Aaron….I love you so much!

Leave a Reply

