Being Servant-Hearted

What does it mean to be servant-hearted? What does it look like in day-to-day life? These questions have been rolling around in my head since my hospital visit two weeks ago, when we welcomed our sweet Reagan as the newest addition to the family. Here’s a picture. Feel free to ooh and ahhh. 🙂

I really thought I knew what the hospital stay would be like – that it would pretty much be like it was the first two times. In some ways, it was. But this time God had something specific to say to me.

First, He pointed out to me how hung up I can get on my own agenda and my own expectations. If things don’t go my way, I throw and internal hissy fit that often leaks all over the place. Here is a wonderfully written post about being an “incontinent Christian“. Eww, right? But embarrassingly familiar to me nonetheless. When I get all wound up in myself like that, I end up hurting my husband and others closest to me. It isn’t pretty.

Second, He reached out to me in a surprising way, showing me a little bit more of who He is through one of His children. I met a nurse while I was at the hospital that continues to make a big impact on me. Just after meeting, she and I were neck-deep in God-talk. We shared a bit of our stories, a bit of our struggles, and a ton of what the Lord was doing in our lives right now. It was totally a God thing! She even prayed over me in the hospital and helped me through some emotional junk I was going through.

The nurse. At the hospital. Isn’t that amazing? God DOES this kind of thing!

Third, He gave me examples of what it means to be self-less. Every time that nurse went to leave the room, she’d say something like “tell me what I can do for you before I leave.” Every time! You could tell that there was more than common courtesy behind it. It was the sound of a servant’s heart – one that just overflowed with the spirit of God. It made me want to be more like that. And she wasn’t the only example: my parents, my sister, my mother-in-law, my friends, my house church family, and especially my husband… so many people that were more selfless and thoughtful than I would likely even think of being.

Fourth, He gently pulled me aside and said “Now what about you?” What would it be like if I asked myself “what could I to serve my husband or kids right now?” before heading off to bed or out of the room? What would it be like if I asked them?  Jesus came not to be served, but to serve. Am I following His lead? Really?

Fifth, He whispered in my ear “You are my own, my beloved, and I will teach you.” He is gentle and patient with me. He is faithful even when I’m not. I have been praying that God would give me His servant-heart. I am sure He will answer it.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being Servant-Hearted

  1. another dad says:

    Better change your intro to 3 amazing kids……LOL

  2. another dad says:

    Make that 3 fantastic kids…..sorry!

  3. Janis says:

    You brought me to tears with this one…thanks

Leave a Reply

