A “Little” Sin Really IS a Big Deal

I have a confession to make: I lied. I’m not technically sure if it was a white lie, off-white lie, gray lie… whatever.

I was asked to lie about something and I did it. Yes, I felt that little elbow in the heart at the time… “Um… hello? That’s not right. You know better.” But I pushed it aside and went through with my lie in order to please others and not make a big deal out of it. I didn’t want to suffer the consequences of NOT agreeing to lie.

Oh, my Lord. I am so backwards sometimes. We are ALL so backwards sometimes! Forgive me!

The truth is, that little lie IS a big deal. We act like a sin that is “small” in our eyes is acceptable. That the end really does sometimes justify the means. By “we”, of course, I really mean me. I want my life to be full of integrity, not so that I’ll look good, but so that Jesus Christ would shine through me to a dark and dying world. Anything less than that does not rightly reflect the power and love of God in my life.

The truth is, Jesus died for that lie. He took on the burden of that lie and all my past, present, and future sins. He was nailed with them on the cross. He submitted Himself to the pain and suffering of a horrible, humiliating end so that he could purchase my soul back from death. And the best part is, He conquered death so that I could have a new life through Him.

Who am I to call any sin ok? 

Lord, thank you for forgiving me… for removing all the barriers I have erected between you and I. Thank you for extending Your heart to me. You are the God of second (and seventy-second) chances. Search my heart – expose the pride, complacency, and selfishness. Expose those times when I am prone to “cheat” in a way that is acceptable to the world, but violates my love for You. Give me the strength and courage to continually turn away from all of that and turn back to You.

Thank for purchasing me with your blood once and for all – it is finished!


About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Just Some Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

