12 New Things – 4. Take better pictures of my kids

My April goal for the 12 New Things challenge was to learn the basics of photography so I could take better pictures of my kids. Obviously, I need some help. I solicited advice, did some research, and played around with my camera. I will have more opportunities to test things out now that the weather is getting better so we can venture outside, but I thought I’d share what I’ve learned so far.

Some of my friends take amazing pictures. One of them had the following advice: “If it [the camera] has a flash that pops up you can use some kleenex and a rubberband to cover the flash. That gives you a softer light than the glaring flash. If you have a camera that you can put a flash attachment on then that’s the way to go… If you get one of those make sure to get a flash that you can put in different positions. You can face the flash up so it bounces off the ceiling or a wall so that you still get a softer light.”

Awesome advice! And that would help me with indoor lighting issues, which has been my dilemma all winter/spring (if you can call what’s happening now in Portland “spring”). However, my camera is just a regular digital camera with built in flash.

For me, the best bet is to try the following:

  • Go outside if possible. Overcast days are better than sunny ones for picture taking.
  • Get near a window to catch some light.
  • Get down to my kids’ level and take close up shots.
  • If I have to use flash, zoom in instead of getting the camera too close to them.
  • Take a lot of pictures and pick and choose, and possibly edit, later.
Here are a couple of great articles that have helped me a lot. 
I’m open to more (friendly) advice and pointers!

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 12 New Things – 4. Take better pictures of my kids

  1. David says:

    – Rule of thirds
    – Bounce light

Leave a Reply

