31 Days to Clean – Created to Give Life (Week 1, Day 2)

<<<<<I am following the Homemaker’s Challenge with Joyful Mothering. It is a devotion by Sarah Mae called “31 Days to Clean: Having a Martha House the Mary Way.” I’m going to post my progress here. I have no grand ideas of keeping my posts up with the actual days of the devotion, and I’m also planning on taking weekends off. The idea is to get as much as I can out of this challenge and end well sometime in June. I highly recommend the ebook. You can download a sample or buy it on Amazon for $5. You can go through the devotion on your own anytime!>>>>>

The “Martha” part of the challenge for Day 2 was to clean the fridge and freezer. Done!

The “Mary” challenge listed several ways in which women bring life into their homes. In looking through them I was struck by how intentional I am in some areas and how completely absent I am in others.

What can I do to bring life and joy to my home, my family, and my sphere of influence? This is the question I sought to answer. It’s a bit overwhelming for me because a thousand things come to mind. So I decided to focus in on one big thing for now:

My words. 

Proverbs 31:26 – She opens her mouth with wisdom, and on her tongue is the law of kindness.

Matthew 12:36 – I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak.

Proverbs 16:24 – Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.

Proverbs 25:11 – A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in a setting of silver.

I want to guard against careless words that could hurt and tear down. I want to say a “word fitly spoken” to bless my family. Gracious words that are sweet to them and bring them health. Kind words and wise words.

The words I speak to my children and my husband are extremely important, and I can purpose to find those good words and speak them. So my goal right now is to actually sit down and write out blessings (many from scripture!) I could have said to them in the past few days, in the hopes that God will bring those things to mind in the future.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Homemaking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

