Becoming my Mom

My mom Saundra with our third child, Reagan. Love it!

As I get older, I am learning new things about my mom. I am getting to know her again, I am learning new things about our relationship, and I am learning new things about what it means to be “Mom”.

Moms and daughters can often have relationships that are loving and true, but have tension as well. It turns out it’s the way many mom-daughter relationships are. Women just know how to push each other’s buttons! 🙂 When they live together in the earlier years, it can get dicey. And when the daughter starts to grow up and begins a family of her own, there are new aspects of that relationship to navigate.

That’s the stage my mom and I are in now! We have the opportunity to grow our relationship and become closer. We get to learn how to extend grace and love to each other – both of us being imperfect but having the best of intentions. It can result in some difficult conversations for us both sometimes (I think it’s because we’re so much alike, personally), but I know it’s totally worth it. My mom is a woman who is definitely well worth knowing and loving. She is as a complex, loving, intelligent, dynamic woman and I count it a privilege to be her daughter.

I’m also learning that I am becoming my mom. Yes… I am. And you know what? I’m good with that. My mom is beautiful, so I always say “thanks!” when people say I look so much like her. I have her face, her hair… her ridiculously loud laugh when something funny is said. My hands are starting to look like hers. My mom’s hands are such a warm and positive memory for me, so that’s a pretty big thing in my mind. I’m even starting to carry on some of the quirky things she said/did in my childhood and it makes me smile every time! And of course, I share her stubbornness and analytical mind.

There are some things I wish I had. I don’t have her artistic abilities, I’m not as generous as she is, I don’t have the strong gift of hospitality that she does. When my mom smiles or laughs, everyone around her HAS to smile too. It’s just impossible not to!

With Mother’s Day coming up, I’ve been thinking about how I can seek to be like my mom in another important way: to do all I can and pour all of myself into a family life that I know is best for my kids. To show the same dedication to family and tradition that my mom showed. My parent’s home was “HOME” for that reason. Now, with a family of my own and my littles crowding at my feet, it’s my turn to dedicate myself to that.

Thank you for being you Mom! I love you. 🙂

Happy Mother’s Day!

~ Tauna

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Just Some Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Becoming my Mom

  1. Angie says:

    Great post Tauna! Okay, is that you in the second picture with your mom? Whoever it is looks freakishly like Jaron… which I love! And yes, you do look like your mom… something I will unfortunately, never do with my mom’s blond hair, haha. As I get older I realize more and more how much I appreciate my mom. Sad most girls don’t realize that at a younger age, huh? I love little girl Tauna… and adult Tauna :).

  2. Saundra says:

    Wow Tauna! I love you too!!! I admire you so much and that makes this posting so intensely meaningful to me. I can only hope my mom knows I love her as well. You are a real inspiration to me – which seems to me puts us exactly where we are blessed to be. Love you. Thank you so much. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

