31 Days to Clean – Priorities and the Six List (Day 4-6)

source: rawich on freedigitalphotos.net

<<<<<I am following the Homemaker’s Challenge with Joyful Mothering. It is a devotion by Sarah Mae called “31 Days to Clean: Having a Martha House the Mary Way.” I’m going to post my progress here. I have no grand ideas of keeping my posts up with the actual days of the devotion, and I’m also planning on taking weekends off. The idea is to get as much as I can out of this challenge and end well sometime in June. I highly recommend the ebook. You can download a sample or buy it on Amazon for $5. You can go through the devotion on your own anytime!>>>>>

I won’t tell all about what I learned these three days. But there are two big things that I am continuing to work on.

1. The Six List – The idea is to write down six things you must complete tomorrow. The next day, work your way down the list, in the order written, until they’re done. Don’t move on to the next thing until you’ve completed the current task. This is a much simpler version of task management than I’ve tried before, so I’m gonna give it a shot.

2. Priorities – I nearly breezed through this. I’ve known for quite some time what my priorities are and have written them out and worked from them. My mission statement is actually a reflection my priorities and the order I hold them in.

However, I realized that my current daily life doesn’t accurately reflect my priorities. I can talk about my priorities all day long but if I don’t live them out, they’re not worth much.

These are my priorities:

  • God
  • Husband/Marriage
  • Kids
  • Home
  • Self
  • Outside ministry
Of course, when I think about my priorities it’s more like the wheel of a bike – God at the center and everything radiating out from it like spokes. But the order does matter in some ways. Specifically, the amount of time and energy I spend on each thing on most days. Here’s the reality of that for me:

  • Kids
  • Home
  • Self
  • Husband
  • God
  • Outside ministry
Yeah… not proud of that. I know that seasons and urgent needs impact how these things get addressed sometimes. But on most days, the time and focus I dedicate diminishes as I move down the list. 
So, here are a few things I think will get me back on track: 
  • Morning devotion/quiet time. Taking that time in the evening or during naps hasn’t been working. My main problem is getting to bed at a decent time so I can get up before the kids do. So I’m going to try! We’ll see how it goes with the baby factor. 🙂
  • Facilitate connection with Aaron and I – dates, conversation or doing something fun together (instead of just plugging in after the kids go to bed), reading together, etc. We started reading the Prelandria series a few nights ago and are setting up some babysitting swaps to save money on date nights!
  • Facilitate Aaron’s leadership in the family – He has indicated that he is more successful at it if I can just set the stage for things like daily family devotion, Bible study, worship, special activities, etc. Mostly that involves establishing routines and getting all the ducks in a row. 🙂 We’ve started making some changes this week toward that goal.
  • Work more diligently at establishing household routines and orderliness. I get overwhelmed by it all and spend a lot more time planning than doing. Small steps seems to be a good idea right now. Step 1 – do this 31 day devotion!
  • Personal care – getting back into exercising now that I’m cleared to by the OB. Also, spending some time and effort to de-frump-ify myself in the morning instead of waiting until Aaron’s about to come home from work!
I don’t think all of this will get 100% better overnight. It’s a continuous journey, and I do have to remember that I will not do a lot of what I intend to these days and that’s ok – I have littles to play with, diapers to change, naps to take, and messes to clean up (constantly)! But I am motivated to do some things today that will help me get back on track. 
About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Following Jesus, Homemaking, Mission/Vision Statements and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 31 Days to Clean – Priorities and the Six List (Day 4-6)

  1. Gina says:

    I enjoy seeing how others are working to keep their priorities in proper order. Thanks for sharing!
    Gina

Leave a Reply

