Starting Preschool at Our House

Image: sheelamohan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ve done “preschool” stuff with Jaron off and on for a while. Most of it was for the sake of experimentation – just kind of getting my feet wet and doing something fun together. But we didn’t get into anything too structured because a) I wasn’t ready for it, b) Jaron didn’t seem interested in it, and c) the vast array of opinions out there about whether to do preschool at all and, if so, what it should look like.

Don’t get me wrong though. We have always done TONS of learning through play, outings, reading, crafts, etc. Then recently Jaron started asking to “go to school”. His cousin and some friends now go to school, so he wanted to as well!

First, I nailed down the goals for our preschool. We just made a list of what we wanted them to be learning right now. Here’s the gist of it:

God – Who God is, that He loves them, and how to love and follow Him.

Bible – Familiarity with and reverence for God’s Word, making it a priority in daily living and the authority in our lives.

Relationships – How to love others and to navigate relationships in a biblical way.

Love of Learning – Making learning fun, challenging, and something that will be an integral part of daily living instead of only “school time”.

Of course, this doesn’t cover everything we want them to learn, but it’s the backbone. I’ll post next about what we are actually doing now for preschool.

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Starting Preschool at Our House

  1. David says:

    You should also put math in there as a key component. Or add on “Love of Learning Mathematical Principles” as an explicit focus.

  2. another dad says:

    On the subject of time management I believe I can help somewhat.

    Don’t mistake my silence as not having received, and accepted the challenge to assist you in collecting, compiling, and developing a great resource and information compilation on safety and first aid for your family as well as learning tools for incorporating these lessons in your home schooling.

    I have gladly dedicated myself to the mission of organizing a resource that I myself have enjoyed re-
    learning and recalling as I work on it. I hope to have it completed so I can send it down with Mom when she next visits. Please don’t spend any time yourself on the subjects, I assure you, I have this under control, and almost prepared to share.

    Please feel free to share what I have created with others you know are homeschooling, or have children of their own, It will be helpful to all families, I’m sure……….dad

  3. Pingback: Homeschool Preschool – What We’re Doing Right Now | Proverbial Girl Duck

Leave a Reply

