Gardening Progress (and setbacks)

Happy snap pea bloom

I wrote quite a bit ago about my project to build garden beds and try doing my own transplants. Well, I’ve had mixed results. I did build the garden beds. One was a raised bed and the other two are in-ground but with mostly new soil. The plants in the raised bed are doing significantly better than the plants in the other beds.

NONE of my transplants worked. In each case I either could not keep them hydrated enough while they were in the little trays, or they died immediately upon transplanting. It was a tad frustrating but I wasn’t too upset about it. It was my first try, and I had a baby to take care of. I did underestimate how much watering they’d need as they were sprouting though. Once a day was clearly not enough. I’ll try again next year.

Raised bed vegetable garden

The snap peas, chard, and spinach I sowed directly seem to be doing ok, as well as the nasturtiums. But for all else I ended up getting starts at the nursery. The broccoli and walla walla onions are doing particularly well. The cold weather did cause problems for my greens and killed both attempts at growing cucumber starts. Oh well!

Sad flower and herb garden

My herb and flower garden is not doing as well. I’m hoping it picks up a little soon. I’m also going to plant more there later and do some wildflowers in certain spots around our property. I also did some pots of orange mint,  peppermint, and one big one with oregano, echinacea and lavender and they’re all doing really well. Yay!

Lavender, echinacea, oregano, etc.

I’ve been using Sluggo pellets from the nursery to keep the slugs away. Other pests were getting my greens and peas so I took some advice and tried a spray bottle full of water, 1/4 cup vinegar, and a few drops of liquid dish soap. Seems to be working!

I don’t have pictures of the strawberry patch out front, but they’ve started producing a few and the rest are well on their way! The grape vines are doing really well too, although we won’t allow them to produce until next year. In the meantime we put some clover in the bed and are just focusing on training the vines.

I have to say I enjoy gardening a lot! Especially the kind that doesn’t involve too much work. 🙂

About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gardening Progress (and setbacks)

  1. Amelia says:

    Darn slugs! I was having a slug problem but found that watering in the morning and putting a trail of salt around the edge of my garden has kept them away.

Leave a Reply

