Baby Shower Theme – Spa / Homemade Beauty Products

I had a blast doing a baby shower for a friend a bit ago. I wrote earlier about the rose cake I made, which was fun. But my favorite part was coming up with a creative shower for a second pregnancy. The parents already had everything they needed! So here’s what I did…

No Gifts 

The mom had everything she needed, so we pooled together money to go toward a maid service for post-baby chaos. To make it easy, people just gave cards with cash or check to the mom. Of course, gift bags made it through the door anyway – us women can’t help ourselves! 🙂

Light Brunch

  • A few crustless quiches (cuz’ I’m too lazy to make crust) with chard and onions. Here is the recipe.
  • A bowl of grapes, a bowl of strawberries, a veggie platter with ranch, crackers with dill havarti cheese (YUM!), and pita chips with hummus
  • A big pitcher of lemonade and a station for making hot teas
  • Cake and cupcakes

 

Easy Games

  • A jelly jar full of chocolate covered sunflower seeds – closest person to guess how many gets a gift (I counted 940 seeds… I think I’d use peanut M&Ms next time!)
  • Each person wears a clothes pin provided at the door. If someone catches you saying “baby”, they get your pin – person with the most pins by cake time gets a prize.

 

Make Your Own Beauty Products (I wish I took more pictures of this)

  • Stations for making toners, body scrubs, bath salts, and linen/room sprays.
  • I had a ton of pretty jelly jars I bought at a great price last year. Each station had the ingredients for the beauty product and jelly jars that would contain the finished product for the guests to take home. I also used large canning jars for holding ingredients like epsom salts, sugar, and witch hazel.
  • There were labels on or in front of the ingredient bottles. I also provided paper labels for guests to write on and glue to their take-home jars.
  • Each station had a propped-up card with instructions for making the beauty product and suggestions for optional ingredients. See below for the text I put on those cards.
  • I already had lavender, rosemary, and chamomile from my garden. You can also buy lavender and use chamomile from tea bags if you’d like. Crushed mint, cucumber pieces, and lemon or orange zest would be good additions as well.
  • I also already had a set of essential oils that I set out for people to add to their concoctions. Lavender, sweet orange, chamomile, and bergamot seemed to be the most popular ones.

People LOVED this and it kept them talking and busy during a non-gift shower. 

A few things to note:

– The jars could be spendy. Another option is to use lidded plastic food containers found cheaply at dollar stores or drug stores. Or you could start early and shop thrift stores and garage sales.

– I provided pretty little corked bottles from the craft store for the guests to take home with for their toner. They had to let the toner mix sit in the jar for a few days, then strain and funnel into the bottles. Same kind of thing for the room sprays but using spray bottles. That was kind of spendy, so you could probably just let them worry about getting their own bottles if you want to.

Beauty Product Recipes:

  • Body Scrub
    • Mix 1/2 cup brown sugar with enough olive oil to make it spreadable and 3-4 drops essential oil.
    • Suggestions: Essential oils such as sweet orange, lavender, vanilla, or jasmine.
  • Bath Salts 
    • Mix 1/2 cup epsom salts herbs and/or essential oils.
    • Suggestions: Dried or fresh lavender or chamomile, essential oils such as geranium, sweet orange, bergamot, lavender.
  • Facial Toner
    • Mix your 1/2 cup witch hazel with herbs and/or essential oils.
    • Let toner soak in the jar for at least two days, then strain and pour into a bottle.
    • Suggestions: Essential oils such as lemon, rosemary, chamomile, geranium, and fresh or dried herbs such as lavender, chamomile, or rosemary. Cucumber and citrus zest are also good additions.
  • Room/Linen Spray
    • Mix 1 cup of witch hazel with herbs and/or essential oils.
    • Let solution soak in the jar for at least two days, then strain and pour into a fine mist spray bottle.
    • Suggestions: Essential oils such as lemon, chamomile, geranium, sweet orange, bergamot, and fresh or dried herbs such as lavender, chamomile, or rosemary.
About GirlDuck

I am a wife, mother, and homemaker who loves Jesus. I am married to an amazing man, Aaron, and I have three fantastic kids. I write this blog mostly to share information with others, record things for my own future reference, and pour out just a bit of my heart.
This entry was posted in Crafts for the decidedly uncrafty and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

